John McCririck Is Suing Channel 4

Mccririck with John Majors former lover Edwina.

McCririck with John Majors former lover Edwina.

Racing pundit John McCririck, 72, is to sue Channel 4 for £3million claiming the broadcaster axed him from its racing coverage because he was too old.

The presenter was dropped when the station unveiled its new presenting team headed by Clare Balding.

McCririck has previously criticised the decision by Channel 4 to award the contract to produce the racing coverage to IMG Sports Media, ending its previous agreement with Highflyer.

In a statement he said: ‘Channel 4 and production company IMG Sports Media were yesterday each served a letter before action for age discrimination.

‘After 29 years with Channel 4 Racing, on a rolling annual contract, I have been sacked without any consultation or cogent explanation. I am 72.

‘For loss of future earnings, unfair career damaging, public humiliation, stress and mental anguish, I will be seeking £500,000.

‘Ageism is illegal. For tens of thousands of employees it has become the feared scourge of our society.

Read More

Pie View

In the infamous words of  Nigel Farage, “I don’t mean to be rude but….”

I would guess that McCririck is a freelance racing pundit. Now that is a guess, and I don’t know for sure, but in that industry, that’s how things usually work.

Therefore there are no guarantees  He’s been a highly paid pundit for 29 years, not a bad little earner, plus various other reality TV programs including two stints on Big Brother purely for the money (by his own admission) and now he’s claiming he’s been sacked. I think that may be contract not renewed rather than sacked.

Anyway, he is suing Channel 4 for £3 million squid for loss of earnings.  Well if that’s what he is claiming for loss of earning, I really hope his tax affairs are in order (I’m sure they are), cause the old revenue boys are probabley checking things as we speak.

As for Channel 4 being ageist, that’s going to be hard to prove, they still use Jon Snow. I don’t think it’s your age that’s against you MCcririck, I think it may be that you come across as repugnant revolting odious nose picking sexist pig with no sense of style.

Here are your best bits.

For gods sake, cut them off.

For gods sake, cut them off.

 

David Beckham pose

David Beckham pose

MCcririck getting an eyefull

 

Beckham doing a MCcririck

Beckham doing a MCcririck

If you think I'm sexy

If you think I’m sexy

I have no words for this one

I have no words for this one

Nose picking and eating

Nose picking and eating

 

I hope you’re not having your dinner!.

You asked for it John, so shut up about it now!

You asked for it John, so shut up about it now!

Leave a Reply

